Return to Culture and Entertainment

Douglas Vineyards

North Carolina has three major wine growing regions, the Mountain Region, the Piedmont Region, and the Sandhill-Coastal Region. Within these three regions, North Carolina has three American Viticultural Areas the Yadkin Valley AVA, Swan Creek AVA, and the Haw River Valley AVA. North Carolina was the first State to cultivate a native American grape variety, the Scuppernong, which produces a sweet wine. Most wine produced in North Carolina, since the year 2000, is made from vitis vinifera grape varieties, although French hybrid and Vitis labrusca varieties are common.

(704) 792-5877

7696 Freeze Road

Kannapolis, NC 28081

Visit Website

Our Location